Info for Students » Uncategorized

Vikings to open camp Monday afternoon, hold 5 fully padded practices

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — The Minnesota Vikings will be back on the field at 3 p.m. Monday.

The training camp schedule, posted on the team’s Web site Tuesday afternoon, begins with non-padded practices on Monday and next Tuesday. They’ll then be in shoulder pads on Aug. 3 and have the first of five fully padded practices the following day.

There are seven “two-a-day” workouts, although one of the sessions each of those days will be a walkthrough only, in accordance with new NFL rules.

The complete schedule is as follows:

Sunday

• Report date (no practice)

Monday

• 3 to 4:35 p.m. Practice #1 – Helmets

Tuesday, Aug. 2

• 9 a.m. to 11:05 a.m. Practice #2 – Helmets

Wednesday, Aug. 3

• 9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #3 – Shoulder Pads• 3 to 4 p.m. Practice #4- Walk-Thru

Thursday, Aug. 4

9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #5 – Full Pads3 to 4 p.m. Practice #6 – Walk-Thru

Friday, Aug. 5

9 to 10 a.m. Practice #7 – Walk-Thru3:00-5:30pm Practice #8 – Full Pads

Saturday, Aug. 6

9 to 10 a.m. Practice #9 – Walk-Thru7 to 9:30 p.m. Practice #10 – Full Pads

Sunday, Aug. 7

Monday, Aug. 8

9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #11 – Shoulder Pads3 to 4 p.m. Practice #12 – Walk-Thru

Tuesday, Aug. 9

9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #13 – Full Pads3 to 4 p.m. Practice #14 – Walk-Thru

Wednesday, Aug. 10

9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #15 – Full Pads3 to 4 p.m. Practice #16 – Walk-Thru

Thursday, Aug. 11

9 to 11:30 a.m. Practice #17 – Shoulder Pads

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for 1500ESPN.com. He co-hosts “Sunday Morning SportsTalk” from 10 a.m. to noon on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.

Comments are closed.