We know you’re excited about the return of PSN, but before you can get your gaming on, there are a few important security steps needed you need to take. First and foremost, according to Sony, update 3.61 is an update which “requires all PSN users to change their password once PlayStation Network is restored. The update (v3.61) is mandatory and is available now.”
“If using a PS3, your password can only be changed on your own PS3 (or a PS3 on which your PSN account was activated), as an added layer of security,” wrote Sony on the US PS Blog. “If you have never downloaded any content using your account on the system, an email will be sent to the registered sign-in ID (email address) associated with your account when you first attempt to sign-in to PSN. this e-mail will contain a link that will enable you to change your password. in this email, click on the link and follow the instructions to change your password. once you have changed your password you can sign-in to your account using your new password.
We strongly recommend that all PSN account holders with PS3s update their systems to prepare for when PlayStation Network is back online. The release of this update is a critical step as we work to make PlayStation Network significantly more secure. Thank you for your continued support and patience.”
PSN is being rolled out in different regions as we speak, and full restoration will be completed by the end of May.
The PSN breach that’s now reportedly the biggest data breach in internet history, hit Sony had in April, after the firm came under fire from a group called “Anonymous”, who vowed to take down Sony sites for its suit against famed hacker Geohot. The network remained unworkable and inaccessible for three weeks, enraging gamers worldwide, and leaving the industry half-alive. but the service is back, now better than ever. And while all gamers will not be online gaming at once, as the network’s being rolled out in phases, by the end of May, normal gaming should return.
Killzone 3 anyone?